## 2018 NSA Student Research Awards

The student research awards were announced during the Annual Business Meeting at 110<sup>th</sup> NSA Annual meeting in Seattle, WA. These competitive grants provide \$1250 in support funding earmarked for student research projects as well as for the best student paper published in the *JSR*.



The George R. Abbe Award for student research to recognizes a student's excellence in any research in the areas of crustacean biology and fisheries management. Winning this year was Patrick Barnes, Western Washington University, for his project entitled, "Evidence of biotic resistance to invasion by European green crab in Coos Bay, Oregon".

The **Melbourne R. Carriker Award** supports a students research project in any topic of shellfisheries. The 2018 Carriker Award was presented to Alyssa Outhwaite, University of Dayton, for her proposal entitled, "Cracking the shell: an investigation of shell repair in the oyster, *Crassostrea virginica*".





The **Michael Castagna Award** for student research is an award devoted to the area of applied shellfisheries. Winning this year was Caitlin O'Brien, for her proposal entitled, "Genetic evaluation of pinto abalone, *Haliotis kamtschatkana*, at long-term restoration sites in the San Juan Island Archipelago, Washington".

Judging of the **Sandra E. Shumway Award** for the Best Student Paper published in the *JSR* has specific selection and evaluation criteria: (1) The lead author must have been a student when the work was completed, (2) the paper must present the student's work, not that of a co-author, (3) it will be evaluated on the quality of science and writing, and (4) the importance of the work to the field of shellfish research. A panel of judges



deliberated, and the award was presented to Megan Levesque, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, for her manuscript:

Levesque, M.M., Inglis, S.D., Shumway, S.E., and Stokesbury, K.D.E. 2016. Mortality assessment of Atlantic sea scallops (*Placopecten magellanicus*) from grey-meat disease. *Journal of Shellfish Research*, 35(2): 295-305.

I wish to thank all the students for submitting their proposals as well as the reviewers for taking the time to evaluate each these proposals and student papers so thoughtfully.

Application deadline for 2018 is November 1st.

Start planning now! Details are available at www.shellfish.org.

Karolyn Hansen, Past-President Steve Allen, President

## 2018 Resolutions

Each year, the National Shellfisheries Association recognizes individuals for special contributions to the society in the form of Resolutions. Each begins with the same introduction:

Whereas, the National Shellfisheries Association, Inc. (NSA) is a Not-for Profit Corporation, and Whereas, members serve as officers and committee members on a voluntary basis, Be It Resolved that on the 21<sup>st</sup> of March, 2018, the National Shellfisheries Association formally recognizes and thanks:

This year, the following Resolutions were presented.

- Susan Elizabeth Ford Recipient of the Thurlow C. Nelson Award, David H. Wallace Award, and Honored Life Member for her many years of dedication and service to the National Shellfisheries Association as co-Chair of the Publications Committee, Member of the Editorial Board for the Journal of Shellfish Research, Editor of the Quarterly Newsletter, and organizer of the Centennial Round Table to help preserve our history, including documentation of the contributions of women to the Association in the Taming of the Oyster. Her foresight and efforts to establish collaboration with BioOne were key to the financial success of the NSA. Susan was a regular and reliable reviewer of manuscripts for JSR, she organized and moderated many special sessions at Annual Meetings, mentored students, and challenged colleagues to strive for excellence. The NSA values and treasures her contributions and her legacy.
- Christopher V. Davis and Karolyn Mueller Hansen for their multiple years and tireless service as webmasters for the National Shellfisheries Association, and for keeping the Association alive electronically.
- The extraordinary staff of the Seattle Renaissance Hotel, especially Karyn Tanaka, Richard Frame, and Erick Gonzalez for their outstanding assistance in making the 110<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the National Shellfisheries Association a great success. Everyone went 'above and beyond' and their professionalism, attention to details, and friendliness were instrumental in making the meeting memorable. WE THANK THEM ALL FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING EFFORTS!
- The Sheridan Press for another year of outstanding service and collaboration publishing the *Journal of Shellfish Research*. We especially recognize Joyce Coulter, Susan Parente, Kim Salois, and Lisa Small for their efforts on behalf of the *Journal* and the National Shellfisheries Association, which are gratefully acknowledged and appreciated.

